Go Back And Remember

Yesterday I celebrated a great 4 year anniversary of a time in my life that was very dark for me. Below is from my Facebook post but I would like to expound a little bit further.

I died. Pronounced dead at the scene. Hit by a car and laying in the middle of a major highway. I’d wake up to half my body being paralyzed and doctor’s telling me I would never use my right arm again. It’s hard to believe it’s been 4 years. The doctor’s said that there was no medical reason I should be alive. Drugs and alcohol were the reason I got hit. The life I thought was great and wonderful actually almost took me out of this world early. I wish I could say I haven’t relasped since the accident. But I have, but I’ve gotten back up. I refuse to go back, I refuse to let my past drag me back to the place where God brought me from.
Relapse is not a part of recovery, recovery is so you don’t relapse.
I’m not alive because I just got lucky or because I have some superhuman body. I’m alive because God started something in my life and has been continuing to use me despite the many times I’ve failed Him. I think sometimes I’ve done more damage to Christianity than I have good, yet God in His grace keeps using me and keeps blessing me.
So, to whomever is reading this, whatever you struggle with, continue on my friend. Keep on fighting. Fight everyday for yourself and for others. YOU MATTER. Today and tomorrow needs you. Recovery whether it be physical or mental, or spiritual or addictions related, we all need each other. Im thankful for the life I’ve been allowed to live and the second chance that I got. I’m thankful to be alive today. 4 years came and went. I’m not where I want to be but thank God I’m not where I used to be.

There are many things that I am thankful for. The road has been long and rough, frustrating, hard and many other things. But it was a great day to just reflect at the journey to where I am now. Holidays are sometimes not the easiest times for people. There are some dates on our calendars that we see and we dread the day it comes. There may have been certain events that happened that particular day that we do not ever wanted to be reminded of. But consider the dates that bring us joy. Perhaps it is a day that we celebrate when we got saved, or a birth, or a graduation, or a milestone.

I was looking through some of my Bibles the other day and I have many dates that are written throughout various passages. There are some dates that I made a decision or God just moved and great and mighty way. Some dates that I have written I could tell where I was the message that was preached, it is like I am there again. I need these reminders.

Lately, depression has set in me for. There have been some events in my life that have taken place that have been difficult. I would like to say that I handled dealing with these things in a positive way but that is anything but true.

Here’s the point that I want to make. We need reminders. Reminders of where we have been. The good times, the times where we laughed until we cried. Memories are beautiful. So, I invite you to take a journey back in time with God and reflect the good times. David, the Bible says, encouraged himself in the Lord. I need to do that more often and if you are anything like me, you may need the same thing.

But we can also get encouragement from others as well when it is hard to bring a smile to your face yourself. So, call that person that you used to laugh all night with. Find a brother or sister that you trust and go back and re visit the memories of times when things were a little bit easier.

Yesterday, I was reminded of a horrible failure of mine but was also reminded of the amazing grace of God. I am thankful for my doctors, nurses, physical therapists, friends in church, pastors, family members and everyone else that has journeyed with me along this journey.

The human body is an amazing thing, but the healing and restoring power of God is even more amazing.

Published by

jojomatchett

I'm just a nobody trying to everybody about a somebody that'll save anybody. - Romans 10:14

Leave a comment